Joint Transportation Review Committee

SENATOR LAWRENCE K. GROOMS CHAIRMAN

SENATOR HUGH K. LEATHERMAN, SR. SENATOR GERALD MALLOY SENATOR HARVEY S. PEELER SENATOR CHAUNCEY K. GREGORY REPRESENTATIVE DEBORAH A. LONG REPRESENTATIVE WILLIAM R. WHITMIRE REPRESENTATIVE GARY CLARY MR. PATTERSON SMITH



DAVID J. OWENS RESEARCH DIRECTOR

KENNETH M. MOFFITT SENATE COUNSEL

RICHARD P. FULMER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES COUNSEL

ARYN BAXA EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT

1101 PENDLETON STREET · SUITE 203 P.O. BOX 142 · COLUMBIA, S.C. 29202 STRANSCOMM@SCSENATE.GOV · 803-212-6400

Date:February 29, 2016To:Members and Interested PartiesFrom:Joint Transportation Review CommitteeRe:Final Report of Findings - SCDOT Commission, 1st, 3rd, and 5th districts

The Joint Transportation Review Committee met on February 23rd and 24th to consider the qualifications of applicants for the South Carolina Department of Transportation Commission. The Committee made the following findings:

For the 1st District, Mr. Robert D. Robbins of Summerville: Qualified For the 3rd District, Dr. Ben H. Davis of Greenwood: Qualified For the 5th District, Mr. David Eugene Branham of Kershaw: Qualified

This report became final at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 26, 2016. The Joint Transportation Review Committee's responsibilities related to screening are concluded.

Candidates may now solicit pledges of votes. Members of the General Assembly are now free to pledge votes to elect candidates. Nothing prevents a delegation from rejecting all persons nominated.

Members residing in the 1st, 3rd, and 5th districts may call a meeting to elect commissioners as provided by Section 57-1-325 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, which provides that:

Legislators residing in the congressional district shall meet upon written call of a majority of the members of the delegation of each district at a time and place to be designated in the call for the purpose of electing a commissioner to represent the district. A majority present, either in person or by written proxy, of the delegation from a given congressional district constitutes a quorum for the purpose of electing a district commissioner. No person may be elected commissioner who fails to receive a majority vote of the members of the delegation.

The delegation must be organized by the election of a chairman and a secretary, and the delegations of each congressional district shall adopt such rules as they consider proper to govern the election. Any absentee may vote by written proxy. When the election is completed, the chairman and the secretary of the delegation shall immediately transmit the name of the person elected to the Secretary of State who shall issue to the person, after he has taken the usual oath of office, a certificate of election as commissioner. The Governor shall then issue a commission to the person, and pending the issuance of the commission, the certificate of election is sufficient warrant to the person to perform all of the duties and functions of his office as commissioner. Each commissioner shall serve until his successor is elected and qualified.

Further, Section 57-1-330 stipulates that "[f]or the purposes of electing a commission member, a legislator shall vote only in the congressional district in which he resides."

Contact: David Owens - 803-212-6402